FEMA Declared Disaster Area South Dakota

On June 28, FEMA issued a Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for areas in South Dakota as a result of severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding May 24-31.  The following counties and reservation are eligible for public assistance:

  • Bennett, Corson, Lawrence, Lincoln, and Union counties, and the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation within Bennett

To view the FEMA release, please click here:
FEMA Declared Disaster Area South Dakota

To view a listing of the ZIP codes located within the affected area, please click here:
ZIP code List for FEMA Declared Disaster Area South Dakota Public Assistance 6/28/13

For a direct link to the FEMA web site, please click here: http://www.fema.gov/.

To view additional All Client Alerts, please click here: Safeguard Properties All Client Alerts.

To review HUD's Declared Disaster Area Moratorium on Foreclosure, please click here: HUD Moratorium on Foreclosure.

For information about VA's recommendations for forbearance, please click here: VA's Policy Regarding Natural Disasters.

For information about Freddie Mac's instructions, please click here: Freddie Mac Disaster Relief Policies.

To review Fannie Mae's Q&A regarding natural disaster relief, please click here: Fannie Mae's Natural Disaster Relief Policies.

About Safeguard 
Safeguard Properties is the largest mortgage field services company in the U.S. Founded in 1990 by Robert Klein and based in Valley View, Ohio, the company inspects and maintains defaulted and foreclosed properties for mortgage servicers, lenders,  and other financial institutions. Safeguard employs approximately 1,700 people, in addition to a network of thousands of contractors nationally. Website: www.safeguardproperties.com.


Stay informed about the latest industry news and events with our All Client Alert email newsfeed.

Ask The CEO

Got a question about Safeguard in the industry? Let us know in our Ask the CEO online Q&A section.